The Komiti Whakahaere operates under a Te Tiriti o Waitangi/Treaty of Waitangi governance model which incorporates the following tikanga:

  1. There are two caucuses, Tangata Whenua and Tangata Tiriti which operate as a cooperative and shared relationship determined on an equal 50:50 basis.
  2. There is a shared leadership between the Tangata Whenua and Tangata Tiriti caucuses. This is done via Co-chairs
  3. There is respect and agreement on timeframes and priorities for expenditure of funds and resources which are decided jointly
  4. Caucusing is encouraged where there are points of cultural difference
  5. Decisions are made collectively rather than a voting system.  This encourages the articulation of diverse views rather than a single or dominant viewpoint
  6. Every meeting/gathering begins and ends with a karakia.
  7. The preferred method of working at national, regional and local levels is kanohi ki te kanohi (i.e. face to face).
  8. Interaction with external organisations, including government and local government, require participation of members from both caucuses.
  9. Public appearances and media interaction is shared and reflects both world views.
  10. Strategies, tikanga, policies, procedures, kawa and practices reflect a two world view and woven into the organisation as reflected in this whariki (see insert)